ESPN ranks the top 500 players

So recently ESPN ranked some of your favorite basketball players. This is supposedly based on now, and not overall career. Well I am only going to focus on the top 10. Which is surprising in itself.

1. Lebron James

2. Dwight Howard

3. Dwayne Wade

4. Chris Paul

5. Dirk Nowitzki

6. Kobe Bryant

7. Kevin Durant

8. Derrick Rose

9. Derron Williams

10. Blake Griffin

(see the rest of the rankings here)

How they were ranked!

“We asked 91 experts to rate each player on a 0-to-10 scale, in terms of “the current quality of each player.”

My rant

First of all, Lebron, in my opinion, should not be #1. Yes, the guy is a beast but he also loses his luster in key situations. I could go on and on about the “ring situation” but I’ll digress for now. Secondly, if this is just based on the last season, then Derrick Rose and Kevin Durant should DEFINITELY, DEFINITELY be in the Top 5. I don’t understand how Chris Paul, (who is an excellent point guard) made in the top 5. He should definitely be in the Top 10, but in the Top 5 I’m not convinced. I also don’t understand how Deron Williams is in the top 10! Really? I’ll digress there too. Last thing, in what world is Blake Griffin ahead of Carmelo Anthony and Amare Stoudemire?? (I don’t believe you, you need more people). I know many people feel like Kobe Bryant should be higher than what he is, but I agree with the number 6 spot. Anybody else that I didn’t mention I basically or somewhat agree with.

Man all this NBA ranking talk has me wanting NBA basketball NOW! I’m interested to see how these rankings will prove true once (when/if) the season starts. Guess I will just have to settle for college basketball in the mean and between time. Go Duke and Michigan State!

What are you thoughts of the rankings?

 

Leave a Reply

