Poetry Hour: Sometimes my Thoughts are Louder than my Words

Sometimes my Thoughts are Louder than my Words

By: DeShara S-J

 

I can’t promise you the world

for I am only a small fish in a large ocean

fighting giant waves that desire nothing more than to swallow me whole

 

Let’s not waste time fighting about who is right

because my heart swoons over your love like you

are the last man on earth

and our procreation is dependent on mankind

 

Lately, answers are like pearls

under layers of sand and all I have is a toy shovel

and my mind

 

Don’t leave

you promised me that

yet you have reneged on my emotions

hoping to be the victor in this life-like game of spades

 

Energy is all I have

Some days not even that

so why waste words that fall on ear plugged by grudges

 

You act like my apologies mean nothing

Trust in me or leave me to

whisper sweet honesties in the soul of another

 

Lies break houses like bricks

They crush hearts like feet upon a soda can

Lies can make the richest man feel poor

and the most faithful woman stray away

 

Life is a battle

beautiful and dreadful

You can choose to be the victim or the hero

 

Never lose the light

follow it like the North Star

Allow it to be a truth-teller

and deciding factor of who can past go

and who will be sent to jail

 

I urge you to live now

while your bones do not ache

and love has not forsaken you completely

 

Smile now

Laugh now

Only cry tears of joy

Find happiness and hold on

 

One response to “Poetry Hour: Sometimes my Thoughts are Louder than my Words

Leave a Reply

