On the Pursuit of Happiness

Hiya! It’s been like over a year since I’ve sat down and wrote anything. That makes me feel so ashamed that my life has become so hectic that I haven’t had the chance to do the one thing that I absolutely love: WRITE! Now as I approach my 25th birthday in two weeks, I’m in a funk. I am very excited to have the opportunity to celebrate twenty-five years of life, but I am scared to death to have been on this earth for twenty-five years, and feel like I’ve accomplished nothing. Maybe I am just too hard on myself because I want it all, but I don’t believe God (or whoever you believe in) has put us on this earth to be in lack. We are put here to prosper, give back, and make the world continually grow in a positive way.

So as I approach this birthday, a quarter of a century, I don’t know what I can say I’ve done. Yes, I’ve moved across a country on a whim because New York was where I was wanted to be. I’ve also completed the manuscript for my first poetry book, and hopefully I will be getting promoted in the next couple of weeks. Still, I feel like I need to do more and I contemplate if I’m happy at all. Am I really living my best life or am I just simply going through the motions? I don’t have an answer honestly, but I know that I have to keep trying. I know that I owe it the universe and to Jesus Christ, himself, to be the best that I can be. That doesn’t mean I won’t get discouraged or have mid-life crisis, it just means that I am aware of my surroundings. The worst thing that could happen to me is to become stagnant, and give up on my dreams.

So cheers to me! Cheers for the guts to admit that I’m still lost, and I’m still actively trying to find my way, each and everyday. Cheers to me for accepting that in the essence of my soul that the one thing that will give eternal me joy is to write, and I am finally taking the necessary steps to get back in school to pursue my writing career wholeheartedly. Sometimes there is nowhere to go but up, and cheers to you for having the same great opportunities!

“Life is a gift, and it offers us the privilege, opportunity, and responsibility to give something back by becoming more”

Anthony Robbins

Leave a Reply

