Don’t Slut Shame Kim Kardashian

I’m not one to slut shame anyone because honestly it’s not really my business what you do with your sexual organs. I am, however, one to stand up for the generation beneath me. I have a 12-year-old sister who I don’t want to look up to people like Kim Kardashian as success stories. Yes, in many ways her story is a success but at what cost?

Screen shot 2014-03-13 at 12.16.57 AM Screen shot 2014-03-13 at 12.17.20 AM

Screen shot 2014-03-13 at 12.17.28 AM

Instead of rewriting my Facebook debate with a friend, I’ll summarize. Somewhere, somehow, this earth shifted tremendously, and celebrity took over. It is no longer about what you know, but rather who. People have become obsessed with the superficiality of this nation. It’s all about hair and makeup and plastic body parts. I am so disgusted that we praise women who intentionally dumb themselves down or exploit for the means of fame. That is absolutely not what being a woman is about. We must carry some high level of respect and self-assurance about ourselves, especially since men find it is easier to defame us then love us. I wish all my sistahs, of all shapes, creeds, colors, and sizes well. Peace be with you. xo.

Screen shot 2014-03-13 at 12.32.35 AM

never forget. image 

THOUGHTS?

Leave a Reply

